Materials
- -Internet Service Providers - Local Sources Worldwide (Herbison)

- Free-Nets
- Internet Service Provider - Free (Places of Color)
Provides free Internet access to persons of color. Also provides computers at greatly discounted prices. 11-00
Papers
- Cable Modems (Harris)
Argues that cable modems are the best solution.
- Cable Modems (Viacom)
Provides answers to basic questions, for consumers. 1-00
- DirecPC Option and ISDN (Moyers)
Discusses the difference between the two high speed options.
- Discussion of High Speed Connections (Berst)
Provides links to 8 very short articles on high speed connections to Internet services.
- Internet Service Providers - How to Select (Herbison)
- Internet Service Providers - Local Sources Worldwide (The List)
Provides listing of Internet service providers by country, state, or area code. Lists thousands of providers.
- Internet Service Providers - National (PC World)
Provides reviews for 12 leading Internet service providers. IBM Internet Connection and Mindspring received their recommendations.
- Safe Internet Service Providers (Enough Is Enough)
Provides a listing of ISPs that filter Web content before it arrives at your home, as well as suggesting filtering software possibilities. 6-00.
Purchase Resources
- America Online (AOL) Is Jamming With Unlimited Usage
Pricing of AOL services changed in December, 1996, increasing the number of users dramatically. Article discusses the consequences.
- America Online
PC Magazine gave AOL its Editor's Choice award for best online service and also gave it high marks as an Internet service provider. Pricing changed in December, 1996, increasing the number of users dramatically. See related article, AOL's Jamming With Unlimited Usage.
- Cable Modem (@Home)
Allows use of the Internet through a cable modem. Considered 350 times faster than a 28.8-kbps modem, but only for receiving information that has been optimized and not for sending. Limited availability as of January, 1997.
- Cable Modem (Continental Cablevision)
Allows use of the Internet through a cable modem. Considered 350 times faster than a 28.8-kbps modem, but only for receiving information that has been optimized and not for sending. Limited availability as of January, 1997.
- DSL (EarthLink)
Allows use of the Internet and telephone simultaneously and at up to 50 times the speed of a 28.8k modem.
- DSL - Find Providers (DSL Reports)
Provides a list of major DSL service providers for your area code and also includes customer reviews.
- DSL - Reviews of Providers (DSL Reports)
Provides evaluations of major DSL service providers based on reviews from users.
- DirecDuo
Provides TV and Internet through one service satellite. Internet access speed up to 200kps for downloads. This is seven times the speed of a 28.8kps modem, the current standard.
- IBM Internet Connection
PC World placed IBM Internet Connection among its top two recommendations.
- MindSpring
PC Magazine gave MindSpring its highest ratings for service and PC World placed it among its top two recommendations.
- Satellite Internet Service Provider (DirecPC)
Provides data through the satellite at up to 400-Kbps, but data can only be sent at 28.8-kbps or modem speed. 2-00
- WebTV Reviews (ZDNet)
Reviews the various vendors for Web TV and makes recommendations.
|